bad cough HELP!!!!

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by hightimes129, Feb 14, 2005.

1. hightimes129

hightimes129 New Member

Hi i am fairly new to smoking and i have had a bad cough pretty much as soon as i inhail the smoke. I usually smoke using a joint or bowl. The coughing usually doesnt last long but can be harsh and makes it very hard for me to hold in a hit even on small ones. PS. i have very mild asthma. Thanks!

2. Buzzby

Buzzby Buddhist Curmudgeon

You might want to try diluting the smoke with fresh air. Instead of putting the joint or pipe right to your lips, leave a tiny gap so you're sucking in fresh air with the smoke. The more dilute smoke will be less likely to activate your coughing reflex.

Another thing that works for me is menthol/eucalyptus cough drops. They seem to suppress the coughing reflex to some extent.

3. Mamabudz

Mamabudz Guest

The combination of the heat hitting your pharynx (back of your throat) and the irritation of the smoke itself is inducing a cough reflex... and that cough is irritatingly causing more coughing.

Yes, your minor asthma does make you more sensitive ..but the THC in the marijuana is also a bronchial dilator so you may find your breathing actually eases up as well --

Current production of a product called Sativex by GW Pharmeceuticals out of Europe is being marketed for , among other things, asthma medication.

Follow the advice above -- cool down the smoke -- I would suggest a bong with ice water myself, as the water also removes some fo the irritating particulate matter in the smoke.

And do have a cool drink available to sooth your throat if you cough.

Oh...and toke responsibly...it's not a competitive sport.

Hugz,

Mama Budz

4. SonicDaChronic

SonicDaChronic New Member

i heard that coughing makes u moe bent, my friend has a bong then persistently coughs his guts up thinking it is benificial. is there any truth to this or is he just making a dick of himself

5. grillmeats