Getting an MMJ card in CA, but I'm not a CA resident

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by LowIze99, Sep 7, 2007.

1. LowIze99

LowIze99 New Member

Ok, I want to make sure that I get this straight before I give up trying to get a marijuana prescription. I am a college student in Los Angeles, but I live in Illinois. I have prescription meds for anxiety, and documented problems with intense anxiety and sleep problems. I know of a place in Santa Monica that I could take my documents to that could give me a recommendation for medicinal marijuana, but I have one problem. I AM NOT A RESIDENT OF CALIFORNIA. I live on campus, so I do not have any utility bills or rent payments to show that I am a resident of california, but I do spend most of the year in CA. All I have is my mailing address at school. I would be willing to take my recommendation straight to a dispensary without getting a card if this is possible but I'm not sure that it is. SHOULD I GIVE UP? Is it impossible for me to get marijuana from one of the dispensaries. Thanks a lot for the help and let me know if I left out any details that would effect my elegibility.
  2. Darque Pervert

Darque Pervert Jive Honkey

I believe you have to be a California resident to get a CA MMJ card.
    Don't think of it as giving up. That's defeatist.
    Think of it as saving your time, money and effort.

And no, you can't take a recommendation to the dispensary. It's not enough.
  3. sterbo

sterbo sailor dog...

You can do either of the following:
    1- go to a local DMV in LA and get a State ID Card
    2- go to a local DMV in LA and get a Calif. drivers license

Either will allow you to then follow the standard procedure of requesting a medical marihuana 'recommendation' from a doctor, and then procuring the necessary credentials from Calif. Dep't of Health Services (Vital Statistics).