Help, making a vap purchase.....

Discussion in 'Vaporizers' started by Wiconi, Jan 9, 2011.

1. Wiconi

Wiconi New Member

I've been reading for a while. I'm going to purchase a vap soon, and I think that I have narrowed my (Wow I never knew there were so many) to the Extreme Q, the Herbalaire, or the Silver Surfer.

I like the multifunction of the extreme, in that I can surely see myself using it (I'm probably in the minority here) for actual aromatherapy and similar applications. But, I'm a little concerned at the air-flowing-through-the-electronics bit. I alos like the idea of a lifetime waranty.

I like the herbalire, but I'm really concerned about heating things in aluminum. And while I know that there isn't any real evidence against silicone, I'm wary of it, I'm a chemist and plastics have a way of being discovered dangerous way after the fact.

The silver surfer has really great reviews, but it's doesn't seem to be as multifunctional as the extreme.

I don't live anywhere near anyone (that I'm aware of) who actually owns and uses a vap - so I can't try one before I spend a lot of money.

Can anyone out there give me a clear, concise comparison of any of the above models? Someone who has actually used or owned them?

Any and all help will be GREATLY appreciated.
  2. 5drive

5drive Slacker

I've used an earlier model E, and own the herbalAire and SSV.
    I would be too. There has also been mica used in the E in the past, and some dust has been seen.

That's only on the heating element. No big deal. Quite a few models have that guarantee. It just means ceramic elements are very reliable.

Vaping temps aren't an issue with the metals used in vapes. It's a non issue.

I'm not aware of any silicone used with the herbalAire. Silicone tubing, used in whips, has a very high temp threshold (much higher than necessary for whip tubing-the temp exposure is low).