Marijuana Before Surgery? Before Anesthesia?

Discussion in 'Surveys, Polls and Questions' started by Captain Binger, Mar 10, 2004.

1. Captain Binger

Captain Binger New Member

I am scheduled for an operation next week (minor surgery), and have smoked just about every day for the last few weeks. I didn't admit smoking marijuana on the medical forms at the hospital, b/c I am an attorney and am concerned about that information becoming public. However, I am concerned that maybe I shouldn't smoke between now and the operation, or alternatively that I should tell my doctor that I smoke.

Does anyone have any experience with this? Is smoking a week or so before undergoing anasthesia a danger that I should worry about? Any information would be appreciated.

2. Higher Logic

Higher Logic Web Developar

Cannabis seems to be pretty harmless when it comes to mixing it with other things, at least in terms of damage to your body. I don't see how smoking should conflict with your surgery and going under anasthesia.

3. Mamabudz

Mamabudz Guest

Hey, it's never minor surgery when it's happening to you.

Sucks that you can't protect your health because you have to protect your public reputation. This is a major reason why cannabis should not be illegal.

First, stop smoking at least one, on the better side two weeks prior to any operation. I know that this advice is given to those who smoke tobacco as smoking prior to surgery has been shown to both slow down the healing process and effect the formation of scar material