Numb Feeling

Discussion in 'Medicinal Marijuana' started by Tokinstars, Aug 10, 2005.

1. Tokinstars

Tokinstars New Member

I'm really new to smoking weed (just started a week ago). My first time i smoked waaaay too much and ended up blacking out. It scared me so bad that now i have panic attacks eveytime i even smoke a little bit. The thing that freaks me out the most is feeling my body going numb and i'm not sure whether it's the weed or the panic attacks i'm having. Okay now my question: When smoking is it normal for your body to go numb due to the weed?

2. Hypchronic

Hypchronic New Member

Heh, that's the bubonic chronic! :D Seriously though, I know a lot of people that for some reason or another, can't handle weed. Marijuana is not for everyone, it seems to affect some people much differently than other people, similar to the panic attacks you describe. A good friend of mine has a mild panic disorder paired with social anxiety (sorry for all the psych stuff again, i gotta use my major!) and simply put, weed just agitates him in an uncomfortable, anxiety provoking, unenjoyable way.

It's too bad your first experience was a bad one, do you still feel panic after even one hit? The numbness you are describing is perfectly normal; marijuana is a teriffic analgesic (pain killer) that you can feel throughout your body, especially after smoking a dank indica.

Hugz and Nugz,

Hypchronic

3. Buzzby

Buzzby Buddhist Curmudgeon

I don't know what analgesia has to do with numbness. Analgesia is not anesthesia. Aspirin, ibuprofen, and morphine are all analgesics. None of them make you feel numb. I've been smoking, on and off, for 38 years and I've never experienced numbness.

I'd ascribe the numbness to the panic attack. When your body is full of adrenaline, as it is when you're panicked, you lose a lot of sensation. That's why soldiers can often continue to function with horrendous wounds in the heat of battle.