pipe screens

Discussion in 'Smoking Accessories' started by imported_jdude, Dec 10, 2005.

1. imported_jdude

imported_jdude New Member

i noticed there was a bit of talk about foil screens both aluminum and tin being very bad for you, so my question is are pipe screens sold at head shops and online bad too? because that is what i use

I am relatively new in smoking and i apologize if i am asking a stupid question or repeating a thread
  2. trade04

trade04 New Member

I think those are copper and steel, those are fine...
  3. imported_jdude

imported_jdude New Member

thanks, i was becoming hesitant to smoke with my pipes...
  4. Smoke_THC

Smoke_THC New Member

i think they are bad for your health. but not as bad as tin foil.
  5. trade04

trade04 New Member

Ive never heard of that....I believe they are safe, they dont burn....
  6. InMyMind

InMyMind New Member

As far as I know, foil is fine..

Man, you're worried about the health risks of tin foil? LOL, you do relise that Marijuana is bad for your health right? lol
  7. imported_Ilúvatar

imported_Ilúvatar Where is my mind...

pipe screens are as safe as you can get, or at least they're no where near as bad as smoking marijuana (and even that isn't bad when used responsibly and in moderation). Smoking anything is unhealthy, but a screen that was MADE to be put through high temperatures and not burn (aka- pipe screens you can buy at headshops) isn't going to cause you any damage, unless you sit there and torch the thing for a minute or two.

Also, it helps if you change the screen out every once in a while. They can get pretty clogged up and nasty...

:edit: The problem with smoking from aluminum foil is that it's thought to cause Alzheimer's disease. I did a little digging and found this on wikipedia.org