Smoking Pot in College?

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by HiI'mHigh, Apr 13, 2009.

1. HiI'mHigh

HiI'mHigh New Member

I'm a high school senior right now and I'm REALLY enjoying my last few months. I've been smoking pot about every week for 6 months. I was wondering how easy is it to get away with smoking in a college dorm room? At my house I have to worry about my parents, but I have a HUGE storage room in my basement me and my friends use for getting high after my parents go to sleep. What happens if my RA walks in on me lighting a joint in my dorm room? Or if my roommate has a problem with me smoking weed and reports me? Will I have to pay a fine? Could I actually go to jail? I'm wondering if I should smoke pot during the first few months of getting used to college life, just because the adjustment could be hard and I don't want to get in trouble.
  2. qazwsx420

qazwsx420 New Member

I think a lot of it depends on the school rules. Im a student in NS Canada and I think schools here are less strict. My first year my RAs would smoke with us. Two of my friends got busted and got put on probation (house probation not the legal kind) and had to pay a fine. I think u can get in a lot more trouble if the search and find weed in your room, that can get u kicked out. Usually no one will notice if they cant smell it, there are plenty of threads on this side on how to cover up the smell, dube tube, a fan etc.
  3. dt5014

dt5014 New Member

Well, my friend at a public college went to jail for like a night because of getting caught with pot, and ended up with a concussion. At my private college, on the other hand, I've been caught and only got a slap on the wrist, and my roommate got caught twice and just got told not to get caught anymore.

It really does depend on the college, but I would figure the more liberal the school, the more likely it would be that they would be tolerant. Just be smart about how you smoke and you should be fine, man.
  4. Jewbutca